Thursday, March 11, 2010

Stallings named as finalist for 2010 Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award

By A. Boggs

BOSTON (MA) -- Vanderbilt head coach Kevin Stallings was announced as one of the fifteen finalists for the 2010 Skip Prosser Award, an award established last year to honor recipients who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity off of it as well. The finalists were announced on Wednesday.

Prosser posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach. During his time at Wake Forest, his teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in arguably the nation’s most difficult league, the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Stallings joins East Tennessee State’s Murry Bartow, Oakland’s Greg Kampe, Murray State’s Billy Kennedy, Butler’s Brad Stevens, Wofford’s Mike Young, Northwestern’s Bill
Carmody, Pittsburgh’s Jamie Dixon, Temple’s Fran Dunphy, Loyola Marymount’s Max Good, Xavier’s Chris Mack, Sam Houston State’s Bob Marlin, Utah State’s Stew Morrill, BYU’s Dave Rose, and Maine’s Ted Woodward.

The Citadel’s Ed Conroy was the winner of the 2009 award and Notre Dame's Mike Brey won the inaugural award in 2008. This year’s award will be presented on April 2 in Indianapolis.

Murry Bartow East Tennessee State
Bill Carmody Northwestern
Jamie Dixon Pittsburgh
Fran Dunphy Temple
Greg Kampe Oakland
Billy Kennedy Murray State
Chris Mack Xavier
Bob Marlin Sam Houston State
Stew Morrill Utah State
Eric Reveno Portland
Dave Rose BYU
Kevin Stallings Vanderbilt
Brad Stevens Butler
Mike Young Wofford
Ted Woodward Maine